PDA

View Full Version : Leather smells like... fish?

withthesword
15 August 2012, 12:58 PM
Hi All,

just wondering if anyone else has ever experienced this phenomena.

i have a custom leather strap made by a reputable watch strap maker, and i've been wearing it off and on for a couple months. i recently started wearing it more, and noticed that it's taken on a fishy smell. no amount of washing seems to be able to get rid of it.

anyone else had this happen? if so, what was your solution if there was one?

Best Regards,

Matte

drockadam
15 August 2012, 01:14 PM
My first question. Are you a fish? Haha!

Hmm, that is weird. I guess leather straps get weird smells due to wear? I rarely wear watches, with a leather strap. Hopefully someone with a little more expertise will chime in.

horseco
15 August 2012, 02:34 PM
The oil in the tanning process makes good leather smell fishy...

FeelingTheBlues
15 August 2012, 02:39 PM
My first question. Are you a fish? Haha!

Now I'm curious, could you please answer that question? :rofl:

Anthony's answer sounds quite good but I must admit I've never experienced such a thing, perhaps this is due to the fact that I only have cheap leather bands...:chuckle::thumbsup:

rr-nyc
15 August 2012, 03:45 PM
I have a gator strap that smells a little fishy but I have to put my nose right up to it in order to smell it.

Feras
15 August 2012, 04:14 PM
I had this experience, especialy if the leather gets wet. But thank God it wasn't a watch band :chuckle:

dpkong
16 August 2012, 01:37 AM
That's one reason why I could never imagine a leather band Daytona as a daily wearer especially in our tropical climate. Instead of bringing on the ladies, they'll be running as fast as they can. And the smell will stay on the wrist even after taking off the watch.

I guess it's just the inherent characteristics of a leather band.

floater156
16 August 2012, 01:42 AM