View Full Version : Trusted websites for a used Rolex
SCman
28 August 2008, 09:32 AM
I'm a new member and I'm looking for a used SS DJ. I searched the forum for some good websites to buy from but mostly all I get is ones to stay away from. That helps a lot but I would like to know the best places to buy with good prices. I've checked out A&E and the prices look a little high. And a couple people said stay away from swiss-wrist which I was also looking at. So please let me know of sites you guys have used so I can pick up my first Rolex.
Thanks,
Lee
mike
28 August 2008, 09:44 AM
I'm a new member and I'm looking for a used SS DJ. I searched the forum for some good websites to buy from but mostly all I get is ones to stay away from. That helps a lot but I would like to know the best places to buy with good prices. I've checked out A&E and the prices look a little high. And a couple people said stay away from swiss-wrist which I was also looking at. So please let me know of sites you guys have used so I can pick up my first Rolex.
Thanks,
Lee
Pricing depends on condition, but sites I have done business with with excellent results (vintage). Understand others may have a different view.
http://www.pduggan.com/
http://www.bernardwatch.com/
http://www.watchcommander.com/
JBIZZ
28 August 2008, 03:25 PM
You can find them on ebay for around $1500 and up, depending on the age, condition, and if they have box/papers or not. Make sure the seller has lots of positive feedback, is located in the U.S., and accepts returns. You can also post pics of them on here to get an indication from others if they are real or not. You may need to get the watch serviced if bought used. I would also recommend using Pay-Pal, for added protection.
scottschoe
28 August 2008, 05:40 PM
alan furman or swiss luxury
Pathagarus
29 August 2008, 04:11 AM
DeMesy is also a reputable dealer. :smokin:
SCman
29 August 2008, 12:45 PM
Thanks for all the nice site. I've been looking on ebay and I found one I like. If you guys could check this one out for me. The price seems fair to me and I can always make a lower offer. And corect me if I'm wrong but this would be an acrylic crystal. Is that somthing I should worry about?
Thanks,
http://cgi.ebay.com/Mens-Rolex-Date-Just-S-S-Jubilee-Band_W0QQitemZ150280821940QQihZ005QQcategoryZ31387 QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
MITS
30 August 2008, 12:38 AM
My personal opinion: I wouldn't trust ANY site...
Noonan
30 August 2008, 01:22 AM
watchestobuy.com has a good reputation. I was very close to buying a Tudor from them. They are based out of Ontario if I remember correctly.
Tomrose11
2 September 2008, 03:34 AM
Not sure why or who told you to stay away from swiss-wrist. They are a reputable dealer, I have bought from them twice in the past and have posted about them on this forum many times before. Two forum members consequently bought from them after talking to me and they were quite impressed to say the least, with their pricing, service and the purchase.
Look them up, www.swisswrist.com
SCman
2 September 2008, 08:15 AM
Thanks Tomrose, I think they look like a legit company but a few people said that some of the pictures are the same on watches listed. The prices seem fair for the DJ's I'm looking at because most of them have aftermarket bezels and dials but that really doesn't bother me. I guess I'll keep looking but I think I'll be buying somthing soon.
nch209
2 September 2008, 07:20 PM
I have sold to Daryll at Swiss Luxary with excelent results. He has treated me very well in the past. PM me if you need any more details.
bewithabob
2 September 2008, 11:37 PM
bernard was excellent
VtailFlyer
6 September 2008, 08:13 AM
bernard was excellent
Seconded!
DaveN
8 September 2008, 01:28 AM
Seconded!
Bought 2 watches from them. Highly recommended...
fsouth
9 September 2008, 03:53 AM
I have had great experience with Bob Wingate at www.tic-tock.com .
Great guy, dependable and very trustworthy!
kwmeo
4 November 2008, 11:13 AM
Hello everyone, this is my first post. I have done a search on this site for Swiss-wrist.com, and have read the reviews. I spoke with Daniel from swiss wrist he is the sales manager, as for the photos he is aware that they are not of the actual watch, he explained that he does not post those photos someone else does. He did send me the actual photos of the watch that I was interested in and was very patient with me over the phone, he also guaranteed that the watch I was interested in would be 100***37; satisfactory. Has anyone else purchased any watches from them recently? please advise. Thankyou.
Celticscrazy31
8 November 2008, 01:58 AM
Bought a watch from swiss wrist, in September, was nervous to say the least. The Sales Manager, answered every question, in every one of my seven or so phone calls. I went with my gut in the end. (must have spoken to a dozen diffrent companies). To name alan Furman and DJB. Went over to Paul Duggan and Co to get it checked out (the guy literally insisted that I take the watch to someone local, the day I got it) , I am happy to say, that my Crazy Heavy President is 100***37; authentic. Watch was New as described, diamond dial was factory set and the price was over $9000 below what Lux Bond & Green wanted for the same exact watch, same serial, even with their kind offer of 10% off. These guys are solid, through and through. I scan this forum everytime I go on a rolex thirst. When I saw this posting, I joined so that I could post my expierance. I checked through their site and and called and asked about the photos, asked the guy about the submariner buckle, he says that the clasp in the photo is original and certainly the way they were made in the 1990's. On the GMT pics he was straight up and honest in telling me that, they stock every watch they sell, some of their watches if they have the time get photographed others will be a picture of another watch long sold but condition and description is always solid. I found it strange how some people on this forum where unsure of them, and I had not one issue? I am sure my watch is the real deal, but the wife is nagging about her watch and I think a rolex its going to be, their price for a matching woman's model is also very attractive. Anyone buy from them recently?
shogan191
9 November 2008, 11:28 AM
I have purchased a Date Just from BeckerTime. They were excellent to deal with. They post the pic of the actual watch with a rundown of the condition including any specific marks, issues, dings or unusual wear. I had the watch I purchased inspected by an Authorized Dealer and he found that the watch and band were all original. Beckertime also allows for me to trade my previously purchased watch towards a new purchase. I just sent my Date just in as a trade for a Yacht-Master. I've been wearing the Date Just the past year. It looked excellent and kept good time.
I'll let you know how the transaction ends.
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff251/shogan191/DSC00166.jpg
Sorry about the quality of the pic. It looked a lot better in person. LOL