The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Audemars Piguet Discussion Forum

Closed Thread

Old 1 March 2024, 12:58 PM   #1
APJourneyFail
Banned

My AP Las Vegas “Journey” - A Cautionary Tale

I have been collecting watches since 1987. I became interested in getting a nice AP so I reached out to some members on the forum here back in 2017/2018. I started communicating with a sales agent in Las Vegas on a referral from a fellow TRF patron. I expressed my long term goal of getting an openwork or ceramic piece. Of course I knew this was a process, or a “journey” as AP likes to call it.

The sales agent (SA) and I communicated back and forth for quite a while until ultimately I was offered a piece in April of 2021. At that time I was interested in a 38mm ROC 26315st with silver dial and blue subdials. I flew out to try one on that had come in for a client and was already sold. I liked it and agreed to proceed by placing a deposit for the next one. Not long after this visit a 26315st was offered to me , but it was the grey dial version. My sales agent
advised me not to be “picky” about dial color and that this would get my foot in the door with AP. I flew out and purchased that watch in April 2021.

Things moved rather quickly after that and I was always reminded by my SA that I “can’t be picky”, not to ask for certain pieces and to “trust” her (my sales agent). Whenever I would bring up a piece I would like to obtain, she would say things like “my Raider client learned the first time I had a 1-hour face to face.. (he) put his trust in me ...never questions me...doesn’t
tell me ‘I want this, I want that”. She told me that she had great success in the past for her clients and to trust her. So I eventually did place my trust in her hands.

Over the course of just under 2 years, my wife and I purchased 8 more AP timepieces: