The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex Watch Reviews

Old 17 May 2008, 04:55 PM   #1
Klink

Watch: Rolex GMT IIc
Another Viewpoint on GMTIIc in SS

I've always loved watches. I grew up in England where I went to a boarding school for seven years from age 11. There's very little privacy in a boarding school and a nice watch on my wrist became a little oasis of privacy when I studied it.

I always liked robust, diver-type watches. I got my first divers' watch at about the age of 11 or 12, I took it into the bath with me, only for the crystal to fog up within minutes. I guess I should have realised that a "Fashiontime" brand watch wasn't really waterproof!

That set back just made me more determined to have a "proper" waterproof, robust watch. My first Rolex was an Explorer I, bought with my first earnings after graduation. From there I moved up to a GMT II, then a Rolex Date, with Oyster and silver dial.

For the last few years I haven't had a Rolex, as kids, houses and other incidental expenses have got in the way. Then I started to catch up with the money going out the door and a new Rolex looked like well-earned compensation for all the long hours and stress.

I hung out here, on eBay, and elsewhere. I was not a huge fan of the new styles of Rolex. I found them a bit more clunky not quite as elegant as the older ones I was used to. Then I read Minus4plus6's comparison review of the GMT II vs the GMT IIc and it all started to fall into place.

"Research" crossed the border into "Obsession" and didn't look back. I went to my AD and held both the GMT and the GMT IIc in my hands. All of a sudden the timeless GMT II which I'd owned for many years looked... old fashioned. The clasp looked like a cheap Seiko's. The hands were spindly, the dots too small. The winder looked like a pimple!