The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 11 August 2018, 12:29 AM   #1
chloebear
Banned

Watch: Explorer
Pepsi Advice

I'm number one on the list for the new SS Pepsi at my AD. I've always thought the Pepsi GMT was the coolest of all Rolex models. I was at the coffee shop this morning and I saw a gentleman wearing (what appeared to be) a 16710 with a beautifully patinated bezel and I suddenly felt the pull towards a vintage model. As I looked into it, it appears I can get a vintage or a new one for essentially the same price. I know it's personal preference but I have no experience with vintage (or semi-vintage) Rolexes. Can some of the more experienced folks give me a little guidance on the pros and cons? Anyone bought a vintage model that had problems? What about new versus old?

Thanks so much!

Mike
chloebear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 August 2018, 12:49 AM   #2
Rolexism_
"TRF" Member

I’m also 1 on my AD list. Can happen any minute.
Rolexism_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 August 2018, 12:51 AM   #3
Likestheshiny
"TRF" Member

I love the vintage look, but I find that owning a modern Rolex makes it hard for me to wear vintage. The bracelet in particular has improved a lot in recent years.

But if you buy from a reputable dealer so you're confident in the authenticity of all the parts, and you're happy with the design of older models, then they're still sturdy and reliable watches.
Likestheshiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 August 2018, 01:00 AM   #4
yxc145
"TRF" Member

Watch: SkyD,JC, BLNR, Ex2
I don't know much about vintage model, but if I were you, I would wait for the new Ceramic model first and then decide what to do. You can always sell the new one and have enough to pay for a vintage one.
yxc145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 August 2018, 01:02 AM   #5
envuks