The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Classifieds > WatchOut!!!

Old 1 February 2017, 03:44 AM   #1
Frich
"TRF" Member

Engraving on the back of a vintage ladies date just

I must preface this by saying I am a complete newbie to Rolex watches. I prefer vintage (40s/50s) Omegas.

My wife always wanted a Rolex and I decided that this year, for our anniversary, I will buy her one. I looked around and found a beautiful vintage ladies date just. It was around 4500. The seller is a reputable jeweler.

The watch arrived the other day and, other than a few barely visible hairline scratches, looked beautiful out if the box.

I looked it over, no blemishes, but I did notice on the back of the watch a "stainless steel" engraving. It gave me pause because, based on my pre-purchase research/due diligence, the back of an authentic Rolex should be free of any engraving. That being said, I did read on a few blogs that some older ladies date just models do have stainless steel engraved on the back.

Should I be concerned? Based on the serial number the jewelry shop gave me the watch is circa 1981.
Frich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 February 2017, 08:40 AM   #2
freefly
"TRF" Member

Watch: 4&5-digit Sub/GMTs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frich View Post
Should I be concerned? Based on the serial number the jewelry shop gave me the watch is circa 1981.
No worries, a lady DJ from that era should have the engraving on the case back. Post pics if you have any other concerns.
freefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 February 2017, 11:48 AM   #3
Knappo 1307
2024 ROLEX DATEJUST41 Pledge Member

Watch: Sea Dweller
Is it sold 18K? 4500 for a 1981 SS ladies DJ is very steep....
Knappo 1307 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 February 2017, 12:59 PM   #4
Frich
"TRF" Member

Here are photos of the watch. I realize that the diamond bezel is after market.
Attached Images