The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 19 December 2018, 04:34 AM   #1
elcabo
"TRF" Member

Watch: 114060
Is this a good idea?

I'm a broke law student who won't be pulling in a real salary until at least October of next year. With all the rage about the waiting lists and supposed shortage of stainless steel sport models, should I just get on a waiting list now for say a Batman or a Daytona, and then just sit back and wait? I don't have a sense of urgency since I obviously don't have the cash on hand, so I figured this might be a good compromise.
elcabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 December 2018, 04:36 AM   #2
FirstF80InSpace
"TRF" Member

I would say go for it. You most likely won't be getting one soon. And even if you did get the call, but didn't have the funds yet, you can always just let the next person in line ahead of you.
FirstF80InSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 December 2018, 04:38 AM   #3
CoveWatch
"TRF" Member

Watch: Rolex & AP
Why not? Even if your name is called, there is no obligation to buy. To me it’s being proactive
CoveWatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 December 2018, 04:38 AM   #4
jsausley
"TRF" Member

Watch: 214270/116710BLNR
Nothing wrong with getting on the waitlist now, that's probably part of the reason why they're so long (people getting on 5 lists but only needing 1 watch).

The problem is unless you're a vetted buyer you may as well not even exist on that AD's radar. They aren't going to sell you a BLNR or BLRO until you've become a vetted buyer (meaning buying something else), and DEFINITELY not a Daytona.

So would it hurt to go ahead and get on the list? No, not at all. Will you help you? Probably also no.
Old 19 December 2018, 04:39 AM   #5
watchwatcher
"TRF" Member

Watch: Yes