The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 20 November 2020, 05:00 PM   #1
Rolaxxx
"TRF" Member

Icon7 Advice on first Rolex: how much would you pay for a 1970s Datejust?

Hi everyone,

I am a novice, yet a watch enthusiast. I am looking to get my first Rolex, and as much as I want it to be brand new, I am just not there yet financially. SO, comes the question:

I am being offered by a trusted source a late 1970s 18k yellow gold Datejust with a President bracelet. It’s 36 mm and has a fluted bezel and a champagne dial. It’s been serviced last about 5 hrs ago. It has some wear and tear from use and bracelet stretch - no box or papers. I may want to resell down the line. It will cost me somewhere between 5500-6000.

Any advice is appreciated! :)
Rolaxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 November 2020, 05:35 PM   #2
Andad
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: A few.
https://www.rolexforums.com/showpost...20&postcount=1

Welcome.

Andad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 November 2020, 06:11 PM   #3
Ihatecheese
Banned

:) Check out chrono24 would be my best answer- Bring a Rolex pro with you for the sale so they can review the authenticity. I wouldnt pay much for a 50 year old watch with no history, whatever it said on the dial
Ihatecheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 November 2020, 07:30 PM   #4
Richard Carver
"TRF" Member

LOL, 50 year old Rolex can be quite nice. :)

You should post your questions in the Vintage Rolex section of the forum. Get some pics if possible.
Richard Carver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 November 2020, 08:44 PM   #5
330ci
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ihatecheese View Post