The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX


Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Audemars Piguet Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22 July 2017, 12:47 AM   #61
benlee
2017 Pledge Member
 
benlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Real Name: Ben
Location: SIN & JKT
Watch: Rolex, AP, PP
Posts: 6,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler1980 View Post
i know. I like those exact two as well. SS blue ROC is the only one i haven't seen but the other two are stunning in person.
I own the SS ROC blue dial novelty. Personally, I think it's the best of the bunch.

__________________
Follow me on Instagram : benlee789
benlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 July 2017, 12:50 AM   #62
P2725TMB
"TRF" Member
 
P2725TMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London UK
Watch: DSDB, YM2, 44RG
Posts: 308
A lovely pic of a lovely watch!
P2725TMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 July 2017, 12:51 AM   #63
benlee
2017 Pledge Member
 
benlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Real Name: Ben
Location: SIN & JKT
Watch: Rolex, AP, PP
Posts: 6,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by P2725TMB View Post
A lovely pic of a lovely watch!
Thanks!
__________________
Follow me on Instagram : benlee789
benlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:16 AM   #64
jem7v
"TRF" Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Maryland
Posts: 702
hahaha I love this....guess what I have to add to this thread. After having my RG for 2 days the chrono no longer works. It moves a bit then freezes completely. It was working perfectly fine yesterday and now today nothing.

EDIT:Wait never mind. False alarm. It's just because it's power was so low I think. I manually wound it a few times, and it's working again. Haven't worn it since I got it yet since it's been pouring all weekend.
jem7v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:20 AM   #65
HL65
Moderator & 2017 Batman Patron
 
HL65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Real Name: Connor MacLeod
Location: Glenfinnan
Watch: Yes
Posts: 53,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by jem7v View Post
hahaha I love this....guess what I have to add to this thread. After having my RG for 2 days the chrono no longer works. It moves a bit then freezes completely. It was working perfectly fine yesterday and now today nothing.
Are you kidding me? What a pain in the rear! Off to APSC - at least they are tops in service and should resolve quickly for you. I guess I am lucky as never an issue w/ any of my chrono's over the years.
__________________

SPEM SUCCESSUS ALIT

Instagram: @thehighlander65
HL65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:20 AM   #66
HL65
Moderator & 2017 Batman Patron
 
HL65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Real Name: Connor MacLeod
Location: Glenfinnan
Watch: Yes
Posts: 53,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by benlee View Post
I own the SS ROC blue dial novelty. Personally, I think it's the best of the bunch.

Beauty Ben! Love the blue as well!
__________________

SPEM SUCCESSUS ALIT

Instagram: @thehighlander65
HL65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:21 AM   #67
texex91
2017 Batman Pledge Member
 
texex91's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA
Watch: Richard Mille
Posts: 17,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by HL65 View Post
Are you kidding me? What a pain in the rear! Off to APSC - at least they are tops in service and should resolve quickly for you. I guess I am lucky as never an issue w/ any of my chrono's over the years.
Owned a half dozen 44 ROO's no issues here either...some time keeping issues maybe, but never a chrono issue.

OP do you have a video?
__________________
- TRF 10 Year Member -
texex91 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:28 AM   #68
AK797
2017 Pledge Member
 
AK797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real Name: Neil
Location: UK
Watch: ing ships roll in
Posts: 36,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by jem7v View Post
hahaha I love this....guess what I have to add to this thread. After having my RG for 2 days the chrono no longer works. It moves a bit then freezes completely. It was working perfectly fine yesterday and now today nothing.

EDIT:Wait never mind. False alarm. It's just because it's power was so low I think. I manually wound it a few times, and it's working again. Haven't worn it since I got it yet since it's been pouring all weekend.
Man, you are like a Comedian at times, God love ya!
AK797 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:33 AM   #69
texex91
2017 Batman Pledge Member
 
texex91's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA
Watch: Richard Mille
Posts: 17,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by jem7v View Post
EDIT:Wait never mind. False alarm. It's just because it's power was so low I think. I manually wound it a few times, and it's working again. Haven't worn it since I got it yet since it's been pouring all weekend.
You can wear this watch inside even when it's raining outside.

Let's get a wrist shot
__________________
- TRF 10 Year Member -
texex91 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:35 AM   #70
jem7v
"TRF" Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Maryland
Posts: 702
I was about to lose my sh**. I've never had a watch where the power needed to be practically fully wound for the chrono to work. Usually shaking it a few times or even picking it up was enough. Pretty sure my other one wasn't that weak. Oh well. I'm letting it run now for an hour just to make sure it still works after that haha.
jem7v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:46 AM   #71
jem7v
"TRF" Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Maryland
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by texex91 View Post
you can wear this watch inside even when it's raining outside.

let's get a wrist shot
287FCABF-882D-4854-B577-9B438931A0C5.jpg
jem7v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:52 AM   #72
texex91
2017 Batman Pledge Member
 
texex91's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA
Watch: Richard Mille
Posts: 17,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by jem7v View Post
Looks like it's working to me :-)

Give it required full winds and wear it and no issues.

Go enjoy
__________________
- TRF 10 Year Member -
texex91 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:09 AM   #73
tyler1980
"TRF" Member
 
tyler1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: london
Posts: 1,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by texex91 View Post
You can wear this watch inside even when it's raining outside.

Let's get a wrist shot
tyler1980 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:17 AM   #74
tyler1980
"TRF" Member
 
tyler1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: london
Posts: 1,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by jem7v View Post
I was about to lose my sh**. I've never had a watch where the power needed to be practically fully wound for the chrono to work. Usually shaking it a few times or even picking it up was enough. Pretty sure my other one wasn't that weak. Oh well. I'm letting it run now for an hour just to make sure it still works after that haha.
that doesn't sound right though. You should be able to use the chronograph after its been sitting for a while. I didn't wear my Ti for a day and a half, then put it on, went to the airport, and timed (with the chronograph ) a 10 hour flight. Besides wearing it in the house and to the airport i didn't get a lot of wrist movement to charge up the reserve either.
tyler1980 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:21 AM   #75
jem7v
"TRF" Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Maryland
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler1980 View Post
that doesn't sound right though. You should be able to use the chronograph after its been sitting for a while. I didn't wear my Ti for a day and a half, then put it on, went to the airport, and timed (with the chronograph ) a 10 hour flight. Besides wearing it in the house and to the airport i didn't get a lot of wrist movement to charge up the reserve either.
It doesn't sound right. But I really haven't worn it at all since I got it besides to unwrap it and take pictures. I took it out of the box, made sure there were no marks on it, and put it back in. And it's sat there yesterday and today.

Maybe in your case it still had enough power. A day and a half is only 36 hours, and the power reserve I believe is 50 hours?

I'll check it out again in the morning.
jem7v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:26 AM   #76
texex91
2017 Batman Pledge Member
 
texex91's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA
Watch: Richard Mille
Posts: 17,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by jem7v View Post
It doesn't sound right. But I really haven't worn it at all since I got it besides to unwrap it and take pictures. I took it out of the box, made sure there were no marks on it, and put it back in. And it's sat there yesterday and today.

Maybe in your case it still had enough power. A day and a half is only 36 hours, and the power reserve I believe is 50 hours?

I'll check it out again in the morning.
Need to wear watches or put on winder. Wear the watch.
__________________
- TRF 10 Year Member -
texex91 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:26 AM   #77
tyler1980
"TRF" Member
 
tyler1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: london
Posts: 1,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by jem7v View Post
It doesn't sound right. But I really haven't worn it at all since I got it besides to unwrap it and take pictures. I took it out of the box, made sure there were no marks on it, and put it back in. And it's sat there yesterday and today.

Maybe in your case it still had enough power. A day and a half is only 36 hours, and the power reserve I believe is 50 hours?

I'll check it out again in the morning.
let us know as I'm curious.

Yeah mine was at about 36 hours idle. Then got limited movement before sitting for another 10 hours on the plane so it was basically idle 46 out of about 51 or 52 continuous hours and running the chronograph should deplete the power reserve faster and i didn't get much wrist movement. So it had to be running near the end of the power reserve for some of the time and i didn't have any issues.

My main point was it should not have to be fully would or even half wound to work. You may have issues after its been idle close to two days though.
tyler1980 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:31 AM   #78
jem7v
"TRF" Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Maryland
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyler1980 View Post
let us know as I'm curious.

Yeah mine was at about 36 hours idle. Then got limited movement before sitting for another 10 hours on the plane so it was basically idle 46 out of about 51 or 52 continuous hours and running the chronograph should deplete the power reserve faster and i didn't get much wrist movement. So it had to be running near the end of the power reserve for some of the time and i didn't have any issues.

My main point was it should not have to be fully would or even half wound to work. You may have issues after its been idle close to two days though.
Well I can check it out tomorrow night. I'll just run the chrono for a bit and put it back. Then I could check it again during the afternoon on Tuesday. It should be near it's power reserve by that point.
jem7v is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Banner Of The Month
*Banner Of The Month*
This space is provided to outstanding horological resources.





Copyright 2004-2017, The Rolex Forums. All Rights Reserved.

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Rolex is a registered trademark of ROLEX USA. The Rolex Forums is not affiliated with ROLEX USA in any way.