The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 14 February 2018, 01:09 PM   #1
mkautrey
"TRF" Member

Watch: GMT Master 2 Pepsi
Rolex GMT Master ll Insert Change

Hi All,
I am new to the world of Rolex and recently purchased a 16710 GMT Master 2. I would like to remove and preserve the original "Pepsi" insert, as it is in mint condition. I will replace with another used Rolex insert that will take daily wear.
I am willing to try myself using one of the many tutorials out there, to include a couple on this forum. However, I would really prefer to use someone who has done this before and can do so without causing damage to the case or bezel.

My question is can anyone recommend a professional in the Dallas-Fort Worth area? I already asked two local Rolex dealers who declined. I am also aware the Rolex service center is not supposed to do this, so will not ask.

So any recommendations in the DFW metro area?

Thank you!
Mike
mkautrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 February 2018, 01:34 PM   #2
Tools
TRF Moderator & 2024 Patron

Watch: GMT's
Can't imagine why a watchmaker at an AD would decline.

Watchmakers International (Bob and Patrick Ridley) is in the Dallas area.
Old 14 February 2018, 01:44 PM   #3
mkautrey
"TRF" Member

Thanks Larry. I just sent Bob Ridley an email.
Mike
Old 15 February 2018, 02:42 AM   #4
Csu87
"TRF" Member

its extremely easy to do yourself.

There are several youtube videos out there showing how to do it.

just make sure to tape up the knife or whatever you use to pop the bezel up so you dont scratch the case, and make sure you dont lose the little click spring.
Csu87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 March 2018, 12:13 AM   #5
Macnavara
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Csu87 View Post
its extremely easy to do yourself.

There are several youtube videos out there showing how to do it.