The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 8 January 2020, 09:55 PM   #1
Wizz
"TRF" Member

Need help to buy my first Rolex :)

Hello all,

I am currently looking to buy my first Rolex. I've been dreaming of a 15200 with black dial for about ten years now and can finally afford one, now I am taking some time to evaluate the options and document myself on the product before buying.

Having absolutely no prior experience of the watchmaking world here I am seeking for your expert's opinion about what to do to get it right the first time.

What should I be looking for in a 1998/1999 15200 with black dial? How much would be a fair price for a model in good condition, with or without original box and papers?

I am absolutely open to every suggestion you might have to offer.

Thank you very much ,
Martin
Wizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 January 2020, 11:37 PM   #2
athom
"TRF" Member

imo I wouldn't pull the trigger in a world I don't have any idea about...
athom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8 January 2020, 11:44 PM   #3
Wizz
"TRF" Member

Which why I'm here, to start somewhere
Old 8 January 2020, 11:50 PM   #4
Wizz
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by athom View Post
Where would you start?
Old 9 January 2020, 01:12 AM   #5
Kingface66
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: 1966 Rolex 5513
Quote:
Originally Posted by athom View Post
Did you read his post? He's doing this the right way. He's admitting he has a lot to learn, came here before pulling any triggers, is asking what to look for, and asking for any suggestions on what he can and should do the first time before pulling the trigger. Not sure why you would dissuade him.