The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 19 March 2015, 09:05 AM   #1
Oyster60
"TRF" Member

Watch: Pelagos
What does the new Pelagos mean for the old version?

I'm new to the world of fine time pieces and have a very modest collection. That's being said I love my ETA Pelagos and treasure it. I read in the Hodinkee article the plan to phase out the ETA Pelagos with the intro of the new in house version. What does this mean for the older model? Should I put mine away for collectability's sake or will its value plummet in your opinion?
Oyster60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 March 2015, 09:24 AM   #2
Travelin' Jack
"TRF" Member

I predict a decent drop in value, at least in the short term. It's a nice piece though and will be easier/cheaper to service with the ETA movement. I'd wear it!
Travelin' Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 March 2015, 09:42 AM   #3
JDR888
"TRF" Member

Watch: Rolex 214270
Keep it - it'll probably worth something in years to come based on the 2-liner dial and ETA movement only being produced for 2/3 years max.

In fact snap up all the second-hand ETA's that become available when the rush for the in-house (particularly the Blue Pelagos) movement starts.

As I've commented on a previous thread earlier today - the WIS community loves watches that deliver uniqueness/exclusivity/limited production runs etc and that's what an ETA Pelagos has now (and will) become.

10/20/30 years time you may see some appreciation in the value because of the proliferation of the in-house movement Pelagos being the norm - ceased production has its benefits long term!!

Current stable: 214270, 126234, 126710BLRO & Pelagos 39mm
JDR888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 March 2015, 10:32 AM   #4
handsfull
"TRF" Member

Watch: youlookinat?