The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Patek Philippe Discussion Forum

Old 13 August 2017, 04:16 PM   #1
MrNemo
"TRF" Member

Patek mind games: separating the money from the watch

I've been collecting watches for about ten years. I've had over 100 watches of almost every brand, from Anonimo and Marathon to Doxa and Panerai. I always come back to Rolex.

For a long time, my dream watch was a 5512 and I've been wearing one now for about 6 months. But lately, I became spellbound by the 5711. I've never owned a watch anywhere near as expensive as the 5711.

I'm in a position to buy one if I could find one secondhand or get on a wait list. But I'm having kind of a watch crisis. Being able to spend $30K on a watch has been messing with my mind a lot. Now I look at, say, a 16610 - a watch I dreamed of for twenty years that I've now owned in multiple incarnations - and it seems rather diminutive. Why? I keep thinking, "A 5711 is like wearing 6 16610s."

I feel like the money is really blurring the line between ego and appreciation. It's like being able to afford one has the potential of turning me into an instant watch snob. I'm worried about how my thoughts have transitioned from being 15 and cutting out pictures of Subs to hang on my wall and now suddenly thinking, "It's just a Rolex."

I like the 5711. I really do. And I'm not planning on selling the 5512. But I'm afraid that I'm basing "what's cool" on the allure of the brand and the absurd cost rather than the watch. It seems like such a losing battle. After all, this is the entry level Patek. What happens two years after you get a 5711, do you start thinking the 5711 isn't "a real Patek" because it doesn't cost $90K?