The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Ω Omega Discussion Forum

Old 11 June 2019, 11:33 PM   #1
Jsquared123
"TRF" Member

Newbie Here - Omega Seamaster 300 SMP vs Rolex Oyster Perpetual 39mm

Longtime board lurker here.. been window/internet shopping for several months now and the final 2 choices have come down to new Omega Seamaster SMP (2018+) vs the Rolex Oyster Perpetual 39, (Inflated prices and scarcity have priced even pre-owned Submariners just a bit out of my range). I apologize if this is a double post for some. I posted this on another forum last night but I'm not sure if it actually posted.

Why then the OP you ask? Sure, it is one of a few Rolex's that fit into my self-imposed budget, but I really like the clean simplicity of it. It does seem more on the dress side at first but I do not think it would look out of place with a pair of jeans either.

Yes, this is not your typical match up since the OP usually gets pitted against the Aqua Terra but the AT did not do anything for me in person after trying it on.

Objective: Looking for 1 versatile (dress up or dress down) timepiece up to about $6-7k budget. This will most likely be a one and done purchase for a while (10+ years). This is also my first higher end purchase. I like both choices with the black dial.

I currently wear a 41mm Seiko SNZF17 as my daily and its more than adequate. My life and job are super casual. I'm in I.T. so I'm in jeans or shorts 95% of the year, although on the occasions where I do need the dress for (weddings, parties, etc), my selection should not look out of place. I also entertained the new Tudor Black Bay Pepsi GMT and while I would love to own one someday, it does not seem quite as versatile for this objective.