The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 18 June 2020, 05:17 AM   #1
DoubleDream
"TRF" Member

Submariner 5513 Lollipop Mk III hold their value?

Hi, Y'all,

I've been intensely looking for a 5513 Lollipop or Mk III. It happens to fall within my birth year, and I'm in love with the oversized hour plots – all of which almost touch the minute markers!

I'm relatively new to the vintage Rolex world. Here are my questions to the experts here:

1) The prices range from $17-20k for all original, excellent condition. These prices seem a bit higher than other 5513's from a few years back and even some 'meters first' examples. Is the current high demand (just a temporary phase), or are these generally viewed as a highly collectible piece?

2) How much does a ghost bezel add to the value of the watch vs. standard dark color bezel?

3) I'm narrowing down to these two pieces. I understand most of these examples do not have much patina on the dial bc they are from 1979-80. Anything specific to access value other than verifying the period correctness, originality, and dealer reputation? I'd read through HODINKEE articles and Beaumont Miller II's 5513mattedial site but not a lot of information on the collectability of these pieces.

See attachments for two examples. Sorry for pixelation, but this forum needs to update their image upload size limitations.

Thanks,
DD
Attached Images
File Type: png 5513 lollipop.png (206.5 KB, 152 views)
File Type: png Screenshot 2020-06-17 11.42.33.png (288.0 KB, 151 views)

Last edited by DoubleDream; 18 June 2020 at 05:27 AM.. Reason: Adding more details
DoubleDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 June 2020, 06:29 AM   #2
Dan S
2024 Pledge Member