The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 12 February 2019, 12:57 PM   #1
South of Heaven
"TRF" Member

Newbie here (full resto on a 6105)

Hi guys, newbie here from Boston. I'm in the process of doing a full restoration on a vintage Rolex, 6105 bubble back that I've inherited.

It was purchased new in Belgium in approximately 1950. It was then used as a daily watch until 1985 or so. Since about 1988 it has not worked and the bracelet is gone. Don't ask! I don't know.

So....Fast forward to last month. I brought it to Longs jewelry (Rolex dealer) in Braintree Ma in the hopes of getting it fixed. They were very polite but vague in their refusal to work on it. They then agreed to ship it to Rolex in NYC. Rolex NYC would not touch it either! They were even more vague in their reasoning and rationale....

Fast forward some more to this month.....Undeterred and always liking a challenge I looked up the American Watch and Clock institute and found some watchmakers in the Boston area.

Now the exciting part. I called Village Watch in Brookline Ma and was greeted by Avi Rubinov the owner. They do Rolex work and have an employee with the CWM21 certification. Avi's dad is a watchmaker too.

So they have the watch and I've agreed to let them do the work on the watch. It's a big job. Here is the abbreviated version of what is gonna be done.

-Complete overhaul
-Main spring
-New plastic crystal
-Hair spring repair
-Full polish
-Complete scratch repair

$1800

I've also got 2 prices for the bracelets. I can either get a used SS Rolex bracelet for $1200 or a used Rolex 2 tone 14k one for $2800.