The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > General Topics > Open Discussion Forum

Old 3 June 2020, 02:08 AM   #1
scarlet knight
"TRF" Member

Watch: Good ones
House alarm monitoring

We have an old hard wired house alarm. We just got a big, increased bill from the monitoring company. Can anyone suggest a different monitoring company? Can one easily switch?
scarlet knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 June 2020, 02:20 AM   #2
donas
Banned

Watch: 116619
I have used Vector Security in SC and TN for about 12 years now. Not the cheapest, but I have been pretty pleased with the service. They have been very good about taking over previously installed hardwired sensors in both houses. I'm not a tech expert, but they supposedly had to change something in the central box to take over monitoring. I called some other companies who refused to take over hardwired sensors. I pay about $40 a month for first 3 years and then it drops from there. Also, they have added wireless sensors to enhance my alarm where hardwired wasn't previously installed.

I like their phone app features. It allows me to see any activated sensor and time whether alarm is on or not. It also detects "usual" activity and will notify if a door is opened that isn't usually opened or one remains open for extended time.
donas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 June 2020, 02:23 AM   #3
Blansky
2024 Pledge Member

Been a bunch of threads on this.

Personally I'd just get something like Simplisafe and a bunch of loud sirens.

I think the whole monitoring thing is a racket. (see what I did there)
Old 3 June 2020, 02:27 AM   #4
donas
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blansky View Post
Been a bunch of threads on this.

Personally I'd just get something like Simplisafe and a bunch of loud sirens.

I think the whole monitoring thing is a racket. (see what I did there)