The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 26 May 2020, 01:02 AM   #1
Morrison0
Banned

Watch: 116500 BLRO SubLB
Advice - First Patek

Hi All

I would like to start Collecting Patek watches. I have completed my Rolex wishlist (Daytona, Pepsi, Sub, GMT LN) and own the AP Royal Oak and a PAM 104...a CasiOak too

I have always admired the calatrava and the Gondolo’s. I just completed my Rolex wishlist and would ideally like to start small ($$ wise)

Here is a Gondolo I have been admiring on Chrono24. Let me know your opinions on the piece...I am an absolute novice wrt Patek so alternate suggestions are welcome.

Look forward to starting my journey soon with your help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Morrison0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2020, 01:42 AM   #2
ts3
"TRF" Member

The 5024 is teeny tiny w a dial width of 18mm IIRC. The best about it is the proven 215 manual wind movement. The rest is not so great IMHO.

You should ask yourself if you'd wear a watch as small as the 5024 coming from 40mm Rolexes and larger. I like small watches - my largest piece is 40mm - and I am happily wearing a 34mm Calatrava, but this one would be too small even for my small wrists.

I would not focus too much on starting small $$ wise as that undoubtedly comes at a cost. Unless you are prepared to spend closer to 15 or 20k the risk is high that you'll start your journey on the wrong foot. Just my two cents of course...
ts3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26 May 2020, 02:30 AM   #3
Morrison0
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by ts3 View Post
The 5024 is teeny tiny w a dial width of 18mm IIRC. The best about it is the proven 215 manual wind movement. The rest is not so great IMHO.