The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 13 December 2018, 11:01 AM   #1
Cvg
"TRF" Member

New to Rolex- my AD experience

So I’ve joined up, done my homework and bought a SS sub. I’m not seeking to build a collection although after lurking around here it’s awfully tempting. The jewelry store where I have bought six figures worth of diamonds for my wife is a an AD. They laughed at me. I mean they actually laughed when I attempted to buy a SS sub. So, I found an online dealer, paid $9500 shipped for a brand new piece with stickers and tags and warranty card from dealer with my name. Sales tax was avoided so I’d say it’s a wash vs buying local. I stopped in to show my AD and he was visibly upset. Three days later he called me to offer a new GMT Master II, black I believe. Too late. So I’m sharing because while I’m new to all this, and I recognize that the model I wanted isn’t too terribly rare , I had no problems buying. My AD , who really is great with diamonds for my wife , may be pissed. Oh well. I really just wanted a proper watch after years of wearing nothing or cheap. I love my Submariner and likely will be my only watch. I do enjoy these forums posts.
Cvg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 December 2018, 11:07 AM   #2
Odie-r
"TRF" Member

Kinda shitty of them. But glad you got your watch. Congrats!
Old 13 December 2018, 11:19 AM   #3
Wcdhtwn
"TRF" Member

Watch: SkyD, SD43, GMT2
Go buy more diamonds for your wife from somewhere else and show him. AD's who treat people this way should know the consequences, clearly, and they should feel the pain in their wallet.
Wcdhtwn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 December 2018, 11:22 AM   #4
calh22a
Banned