The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 15 October 2017, 12:44 AM   #1
smg8
Banned

Can ROO bezel be repaired?

Hi all,

This may seem a stupid question, but I am just getting into the ROO having not paid much attention to them before. Tastes change etc and I can't believe I haven't been into these until now! Just discovering the range and honing in on what one I want to buy (will rotate with GMT Master II).

The one thing that comes up in every thread on these is how easy the bezel is to scratch due to the size. I used to own a PAM 312 and caught it from time to time (generally I am very careful and work at a desk, but the bulk of it takes you by surprise sometimes). I also used to own an AP 15300 and know that picked up scratches pretty easily.

Anyway, my question is, is scratching/damaging the bezel terminal/permanent? Or is it just a case of the watch needing a light polish every couple of years or so? My budget probably restrains me to considering the 42mm and it would be the steel bezel. Is scratching it that bad, or is it just a minor annoyance and when you get it back after a service it's good as new?
smg8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2017, 12:46 AM   #2
tyler1980
"TRF" Member

i wouldn't worry about a SS bezel as it can be polished at service and once it gets too polished it can be replaced. Im 100% in favor of polishing the bezel at every service. The case, not so much as i would never want to replace that due to too many polishes. All of that assumes that you could request just the bezel done and nothing else. I haven't tried it yet so i don't know for sure.

My diver bezel looked almost new after a year and a half and i was not overly careful with it. It does scratch, but if you have good wrist awareness its not an issue.