The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 6 October 2016, 02:46 AM   #1
OBC
"TRF" Member

Rolex GMTmaster1 1970ish

I inhereted my fathers GMTmaster which dates back to the late 60's - early 70's. Unfortunately it no longer goes and the the crown wheel outer has broken off, so I will need to have it serviced, when I can afford it :(

One thing I have noticed is that the 24hour hand does not have the larger, more common arrowhead, but a much smaller one.

Any ideas as to the date of this watch, I don't have any papers, but do have a box [one of two] but I remember my father getting the watch in lieu of a bad debt.

OBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 October 2016, 06:58 AM   #2
timnik
"TRF" Member

Hi, I'm in the UK and I have a GMT-Master 1969 (I think) inherited from my father who died in 2004.

Some photos are going to needed.

Don't worry if it's not working. There are people who will get it running!

There is a font of knowledge on here.

Sounds like you have an early to mid 60's model with the small GMT hand. I reckon you've probably got yourself something good there.

Photos please!
timnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 October 2016, 07:33 AM   #3
lee fowler
2024 ROLEX DATEJUST41 Pledge Member

Watch: GMT
As already said we need pics!! Depending on your location Graham at Superlative Time in West London is your man for servicing, he has just rebuilt the movement on my 16750 and will do whatever you require and he also understands the whole vintage thing!

Instagram: @lee1563
lee fowler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 October 2016, 07:42 AM   #4
OBC
"TRF" Member

shock!!!

I gave it a shake and the second hand moved, so I set the time and put it on. It's been running all evening. Can't change the date though

re photos. I need to put it online as I don't seem to be able to upload.