The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 22 January 2018, 03:15 AM   #1
nigelUK
"TRF" Member

What timekeeping would be acceptable to you ?

On a 38 year old watch ?

Mine is running a regular 15 secs fast per day. While it doesn't bother me . . I actually enjoy the process of re-setting it every 3 or 4 days. Almost like the experience you get with a manual.

However, is this generally acceptable for 1980 Sub 1680 ? Should I only be concerned if it changes suddenly and then look at a service ? Think the last RSC service was 2013. Not a long time if we were talking about a modern piece.

I'm asking because I'm relatively new to vintage and I would not want to think I was causing damage to a watch that I wear everyday and my favourite piece.

Thanks
nigelUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 January 2018, 05:54 AM   #2
Fredrik
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: 1680
I have a -78 1680, a -78 1675 and a -72 1625. I have had them all regulated to less than 30s fast per month. The 1575 movement is capable of that. This is something that only slowly changes throughout the years and if they are running to slow/fast for my liking I have them regulated again. It is usually years between the regulations.

Maybe you just need to have it regulated?
Fredrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 January 2018, 07:09 AM   #3
teb1013
"TRF" Member

Not officially vintage, but I have a 28 year old Datejust that ran about +14 spd when I got it, but after full service has been running + 2 spd or less. Is there a time that the watch can’t be serviced and brought up to COSC or close thereto? I see a lot of fine watches in particular a Rootbeer GMT that I have my eyes on but I’d like to know what to expect accuracy wise if I’m willing to pay for full service.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
teb1013 is offline   Reply With Quote