The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Watch Reviews (Non-Rolex)

Old 27 May 2022, 03:11 AM   #1
m j b
"TRF" Member

Watch: ♕& Ω
My kickstarter watch - Exciton II

If you're reading this, hopefully you know what Kickstarter is. I've never done a successful campaign there before (a few I supported did not get funded) and took a gamble last year because I liked what I saw, and honestly it wasn't a huge monetary risk since the guys doing it had done a successful one before.

This watch was designed and built by two guys, Gary Williams in the U.K. who has a YouTube channel about watches, and his partner James (I'm not sure we were ever told his full name) who is a scientist/engineer in Canada. Its appeal to me was primarily the size (38mm) and the enthusiasm shown by the creators. Long story short, the campaign took longer to do than planned for various reasons I won't go into here, except that obviously some of the Covid lockdowns slowed down some of the efforts. But these guys did sweat the details, and produced what I think is a nice watch.