The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Classifieds > WatchOut!!!

Old 27 May 2017, 04:14 AM   #1
Craft&Tailored
"TRF" Member

Icon2 Increasing Number Of Fake Vintage Submariners

Hey Guys,

I thought I would share this as we are starting to see a ton of vintage "replica" or fake Rolex Submariners and Tudor Submariners start to surface even within the professional side of the vintage watch community. Modern Fake or non genuine rolex watches are obviously extremly common but there are a few good vintage fakes out there as well..

The intention of this post is to inform you as the consumer and to always look closely at the details. Although this watch to me looks completely off with just one slight glance I possess an advantage that the average collector or enthusiast may not yet possess as this is what I do for a living and look at on average 20-30 vintage sport pieces on any given day. The average untrained eye and entry level buyer or collector may not notice these details.

I wanted to share with you the process in which I walk through when I am looking at every single piece to potentially buy and also when evaluating a vintage watch and more specifically vintage sports model Rolex's

I wanted to use this Rolex Submariner Ref 5513 that was shown to us today as an example as this piece could pass quite easily and I wanted to show some of the not so obvious details that may slip under the radar for the average enthusiast looking to purchase a vintage Submariner...