The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 11 March 2015, 08:41 PM   #1
Justin Stacks
"TRF" Member

Watch: AP 15300
Patina and Polishing

Hi - I'm new to vintage so have a couple of questions.

I love patina, but at what point is it considered too much, or considered damaged?

What are your thoughts on the hands on this piece, and the case? Does it look polished?

It's ca. 1981, 16750 GMT.

I'm comfortable with the movement, etc. it's just the hands and the bezel.

Any info is appreciated. Thanks.

Justin Stacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 March 2015, 09:16 PM   #2
Vincent65
"TRF" Member

Hands are corroded, which isn't pretty but quite common. Some are better, some worse, but these are not great, to be honest. Likely some moisture ingress at some point in time. All part of the charm, though! I'd keep them original, if it were mine. Same with the insert, which is a little faded and looks great. It may well be a replacement anyway. case is definitely polished but still very strong, I'd say. Congrats and enjoy!
Vincent65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 March 2015, 09:36 PM   #3
Justin Stacks
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent65 View Post
Hands are corroded, which isn't pretty but quite common. Some are better, some worse, but these are not great, to be honest. Likely some moisture ingress at some point in time. All part of the charm, though! I'd keep them original, if it were mine. Same with the insert, which is a little faded and looks great. It may well be a replacement anyway. case is definitely polished but still very strong, I'd say. Congrats and enjoy!
Thx Vincent for your input.

Unfortunately it's not mine (yet)…just a piece I am considering.