The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 9 October 2018, 10:08 PM   #1
emielvl
"TRF" Member

Watch: Panerai Lum. Mar.
Thoughts on vintage 1807 with Buckley dial

Hi,

The Day-date with Buckley dial is one of my favourite vintage Rolex (dress) watches and I've been looking for a good one for quite some time already. Recently I came across this one in a local shop:

(See attachments)
(awco DOT nl/winkel/vintage-collectie/rolex/day-date-ref-1807)

I'm considering to buy it but I'm not an expert on the subject so for me it is hard to tell whether this is a good deal. Perhaps some of you could voice their opinion on this watch?

- Do you think the watch (esp. the bezel) is too polished?
- How can I tell whether the dial and hands are still original? Is there a reference website I can check that lists all configurations of this watch ever made?
- What about the price, 7650 euros ($8800) is not exactly cheap... or is this a 'good' price in the current vintage market?

The shop does have a (very) good reputation, the watch is fully serviced and includes a one year warranty.

thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rolex-day-date-1807-3227-awco.nl-1-600x900.jpg (67.4 KB, 153 views)
File Type: jpeg rolex-day-date-1807-3227-awco.nl-6.jpeg (120.2 KB, 152 views)
emielvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 November 2018, 03:02 AM   #2
kwizzle
"TRF" Member

Looks great, do they have an 1807 bark bezel with it or is it an 1803 buckley? Has that dial been repainted/ relumed it looks crisp? I have an 1807 in pretty good shape and it has three lume dots that have fallen off. You can see a pic on my Instagram "kwizzlewizzle". I think all watch prices are crazy lately but I guess they are worth what someone will pay for them. That said I think its a little high priced without the president band. Enjoy it the old dd are awesome!