The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex WatchTech

Old 31 January 2015, 03:21 AM   #1
h_curtis
"TRF" Member

Rolex 1603/0 is in need of service, but cost is high.

Rolex description: Model 1603/0, Rolex 36mm Oyster Perpetual Datejust, engine-turned bezel. Bracelet 78360 SS Oyster, Caliber 1575

I have been wearing my Datejust daily for about 20 years without any issues, other than it runs about 1.8 seconds fast per hour, which I was okay with considering its age. The crown wouldn't stay seated, so I went to my local Rolex dealer and had them have a look. The watchmaker, who has been with Rolex for over 30 years told me to expect a $2,000 bill to get it to Rolex standard. I then called Rolex USA in NYC and was quoted $600 for service plus parts needed over the phone. I decided to send my watch to NYC and have them give a formal estimate. Rolex in NY told me $1,644 without any band work and $2,600 with additional recommendations. I was hoping for a bill under $1,000. Guess I was dreaming. Rolex USA stated: Movement service required, Crystal scratched/chipped, Dial finish not original, Case and bracelet scratched, Bracelet badly worn/stretched, Crown dented/damaged, Watch runs fast (per customer), Hands luminous cracked, Case nicked/dented, Clasp hinge badly worn.