The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 2 October 2018, 03:12 PM   #1
42itus
"TRF" Member

Watch: 116519LN
Submariner 114060

Hello everyone. First post here and I’m sorry if this is a silly question. Local Rolex boutique that I have no relationship ship with just called to say they received a no date sub. I am new to collecting and in wondering how rare these are? From my perspective it seems like an iconic watch that will be timeless and should be a part of every collection.
But the salesman said I need to pay for it and all sales are final but I don’t want to buy anything without seeing it on my wrist. And I live too far away to go visit today. I’m trying to justify it by saying that I’ll hand it down to my son when he goes to college. I can afford it, but I’m not rich enough to spend $7500 without giving it some thought.
I’ve learned so much from you all and want your opinion.
Thanks.
42itus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 October 2018, 04:23 PM   #2
Dirt
"TRF" Member

Watch: DSSD
Welcome to the forum.
Only you can say for sure.
It's not necessarily the initial purchase price that you need to consider.
There's also servicing and repair costs to factor into the equation as well.

If you're not overly motivated to pull the trigger on the watch as it stands at this point in time, then i would suggest you are not necessarily ready to go ahead yet and it may be prudent to sit back and wait for more clarity in your own mind.

Asking the question here on this forum should be enough indication that there is more than enough doubt around this to take a step back a little.
One doesn't have to take every deal on offer in this life. And it certainly applies where there may be a real risk that buyers remorse may be forthcoming.

Good Luck.
Dirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 October 2018, 04:28 PM   #3