The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 17 November 2018, 04:33 PM   #1
PatrickF5.6
"TRF" Member

What's the best Rolex to stand up over time?

I'm new to the Rolex Forums, but wanted to get some input on a decision I'm making. I have an Explorer 1. Purchased in 2003. Inscribed. I love wearing this watch. Looks beautiful. My intention is at some point to give to my son, and hopefully he can pass it down also. My family has never had anything that we can "pass down", so I'd like to start something here. Anyway I have a second son, so was going to get a second watch. Was looking at a new GMT M2. Here are my thoughts, and then my question.

I'm not a big fan of the "vintage" look. I know that it has a lot of appeal to a lot of people, but for me, it's just not my style. I don't like the faded bezel, I don't like the lume flaking off, I don't like patina. I don't like the hands that appear tattered. When I see images of those original Pan Am watches, I'm like "wow, those look beat". Now I know that a new GMT will look better in 70 years than a 1950s GMT looks today, but I still have a concern.

Question is, what is the best Rolex if you're just thinking about the physical appearance staying true over time? Should I stay away from sports watches with lume? Should I be looking at stainless or is precious metal better? Are certain dials better as far as cracking or fading?

Lastly, would love to see any pics of watches that have been in your family for a generation or two, and to hear what your experience is. Thanks.
PatrickF5.6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 November 2018, 12:09 AM   #2
BakerView
"TRF" Member

Watch: that I'm Jonesin 4
Great thread idea

Looking forward to seeing the Rolex's that have stood the test of time/been passed down through generations.....