The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Ω Omega Discussion Forum

Old 1 April 2022, 01:24 AM   #1
TDS
"TRF" Member

"Marketing Take" on Omega Swatch Co-Lab

Came across this article recently, interesting take... makes sense to me but I'm no Marketing expert...

https://www.marketingweek.com/mark-r...h-co-branding/
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 April 2022, 01:55 AM   #2
AdamW
"TRF" Member

Watch: this space
I am a marketing expert and I think this hurts Omega's brand at a time when it was prospering the most from the current Rolex situation. It was poised to really be accepted by the WIS community as a viable alternative. Ridicule by those in the know is never good. Plus, those who never thought of a luxury watch and buy it because it's $250.00, aren't exactly the target demo for Omega.

Maybe I'm just too personally biased. I hate the whole thing.

" I don't have a microwave oven but I do have a clock that occasionally cooks $h!t" - Mitch Hedburgh
AdamW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 April 2022, 02:05 AM   #3
raclaims
"TRF" Member

Totally agree Adam...yet over on the Omega Forums the guys think this is the most brilliant move ever made by any company ever...
raclaims is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 April 2022, 02:16 AM   #4
Carrera911
"TRF" Member

Watch: Bluesy (126613LB)
I think they did well with the buzz but failed (miserably) with the execution.
Dye coming off the watch, 75 units available in store for the launch, website that keeps crashing, no online sales for foreseeable future, no strategy at all.

My take on the Omega brand being cheapened by these watches is that it actually made me desire more a genuine speedmaster, so I think they did well.
Old 1 April 2022, 02:24 AM   #5
C0d
Banned

Watch: Dog
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carrera911 View Post