The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Ω Omega Discussion Forum

Old 5 December 2012, 11:45 AM   #1
jphj012
"TRF" Member

Watch: Milgauss GV
Omega and Cartier Comparison

Since I have no experience with Omega and Cartier watches, are they both in the same class? In terms of movement, I would assume Omega has the upper edge. However, with brand recognition, resale value, reliability, design, and elegance, which would come on top?
jphj012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 December 2012, 03:11 AM   #2
Cuts33
"TRF" Member

Since nobody chimed in I will take a stab at it.

For the past several months I was very close to pulling the trigger on the calibre de cartier with the white dial and black strap. I loved the watch but something was "just not right."

I began looking at other watches including Rolex, IWC, JLC, Panerai. At the end of the day, I went with the Omega PO 8500.

These are just my personal opinions but to me Omega represents a better value over Cartier in terms of what you are getting from a mechanical/engineering standpoint.

The Calibre was the only Cartier I seriously considered because it was the only one with their new in-house movement (they have since added it to the new Tank). I couldn't justify $5-$6K in my own head for an off the shelf ETA movement finished by Cartier.

However, even though Cartier does produce their own movement, to me, the 1904-MC calibre is nothing special and I don't see anything "innovative" about it. For that reason, I give the upper hand to Omega and the 8500 movement, which you can learn a lot about by searching the forum.