The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > General Topics > Open Discussion Forum

Old 24 October 2020, 01:09 AM   #1
Spectre38
"TRF" Member

Watch: and be amazed.
Peoples opinion on Le Creuset dutch ovens...

I received my first Le Creuset dutch oven in 1987 when I graduated from highschool in cerise. At that time, I thought it was kind of an odd graduation gift for a guy... but my thoughts have changed.

Every year about this time when the mornings and evenings grow cooler, the trees change color, the time for big simmering pots of comfort food has arrived. Pots of soup, chili, beans & hamhocks and many other delicious concoctions fill the house with wonderful scents.

Over the years my collection of Le Creuset dutch ovens has grown. At various times, I have tried different brands, Staub ( which I use for baking bread ), Emille Henry, Martha Stewart and a host of others. Some were borrowed, some were purchased and later given to friends and family, but none lived up to my original Le Creuset. I have had people tell me that one enameled pot is just as good as the rest. I would personally disagree.

Since my original 3.5 Qt., which I still have and use constantly... I have acquired a 1, 2 , 4.5, 5.5, 7.25, 9 and 15.5 qt Goose Pot. I cannot imagine my kitchen without my enameled cast iron.

What are your thoughts? Is anyone out there a cook with an affinity for enameled cast ? Has anyone experienced any negatives, other than the obvious weight?
Old 24 October 2020, 01:13 AM   #2
Vivalas
"TRF" Member

Watch: AP
Recently got a pan for cooking steaks etc and quality is incredible. Yes it’s extremely heavy though.
Vivalas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 October 2020, 01:17 AM   #3
GB-man
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: addiction issues
We have LC and staub. Both get used frequently. Cast iron for the win. We basically don't use anything else.