The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 30 September 2017, 01:02 PM   #1
jschmidtdmd
"TRF" Member

Elective Service Question

I apologize if these questions are poor or have been covered, but I have no experience with RSC or other independents.

Over the last month I acquired both a RG and WG DD2 with wave dial. Both examples were extremely well priced, but were certainly used. Upon receipt of the pieces, I am really unhappy with their condition based on how I care for the remainder of my collection.

For me, one piece would need a new bezel and the other example would need a new crystal, possibly new hands, and a new bezel.

I'm not really sure what to do, or where to send them. I can certainly return them at no financial loss, but my research has shown that new pieces are approximately 5k more per watch. Apparently these DD2s are hot right now.

Although a serial flipper, I see these in my collection for a bit.

What would you guys do?

JPS
Old 30 September 2017, 07:27 PM   #2
returntorolex
"TRF" Member

Watch: Jackie Stewart DD
Get them serviced and enjoy them!
Old 30 September 2017, 07:32 PM   #3
tyler1980
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jschmidtdmd View Post
For me, one piece would need a new bezel and the other example would need a new crystal, possibly new hands, and a new bezel.

I'm not really sure what to do, or where to send them. I can certainly return them at no financial loss, but my research has shown that new pieces are approximately 5k more per watch. Apparently these DD2s are hot right now.

JPS
I would probably send them back. After a service and a new gold bezel, hands, and crystal your 5k in savings is going to be minimal.
current collection: Patek 5164A, Patek 5524G, Rolex Platinum Daytona 116506, Rolex Sea Dweller 43 126600, Rolex GMT II 116710LN, AP 15400ST (silver), Panerai 913, Omega Speedmaster moonwatch, Tudor Black Bay (Harrods Edition)