The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > General Topics > Open Discussion Forum

Old 14 November 2017, 01:54 AM   #1
rbox
"TRF" Member

Watch: Pepsi
Starter DSLR- Canon, Nikon or other?

We have some very knowledgeable photographers in our midst so I'd like to gather your opinions on starter DSLR gear for an aspiring hobbyist and commercial photographer.

Most of my shooting will be people, products and buildings/stores. Being a programmer, I have a technical mind if that makes any difference to the usability, and I have always been partial to Panasonic products.

Also, what are your thoughts on new vs. used equipment? Thanks!!!
rbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 November 2017, 02:36 AM   #2
j0oftheworld
"TRF" Member

Watch: 14060M
The camera is actually the cheap part! Haha
Lenses depending on what you want to shoot is where research comes into play.
Do you have a large sensor portable (point and shoot) 1-3x style camera already? I love my Lumix LX5 and it has a while range of comparable competitors. It'll be nice to learn on and take with you on trips etc.
I also have a Canon DSLR with "kit" lenses, nifty 50, 13mm, and some filters, ie ND filter to capture motion blur in daylight.

Mr Bond, I suppose you wouldn't care to... um... raise the limit?
I have no objections. Looks like you're out to get me.
It's an idea, at that.
j0oftheworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 November 2017, 02:46 AM   #3
tamiya
"TRF" Member

I choose Nikon over Canon because back in film era Nikkor glass was sharper than Canon, but these days it's much of a muchness... but they still ain't interchangeable! Only real difference is Nikon DSLR bodies usually feel heavier than Canons at consumer level, up to personal preference.