The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Audemars Piguet Discussion Forum

Old 25 January 2019, 02:59 AM   #1
blown5.0
"TRF" Member

Thoughts on Titanium?

Hi all,

I am new to the world of AP, and I am trying to take in all the different models. I am a big fan of the Titanium. I was just curious if anyone has any experience/thoughts around this watch? Any history around it would be great to know as well. Thanks!
blown5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 January 2019, 03:03 AM   #2
eal15
"TRF" Member

Watch: Audemars Piguet 15
It’s my favorite everyday material. Most of my Panerai’s are titanium and my AP diver is SS but I’m wanting the new 42mm ROO chrono in titanium. My favorite AP is the 44mm ROO chrono but unfortunately it’s too big for me. You’d be pretty happy with an AP titanium if you’re already a titanium fan.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
eal15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 January 2019, 04:42 AM   #3
ts3
"TRF" Member

Like Ti for bike or aircraft parts but I didn't like it as a watch material when I had my one and only Ti watch.

It was an IWC 3707 GST Chrono with matte Ti case and bracelet that was meant to be a tool watch but it was the worst scratch magnet I ever had. Even more disappointing as the IWC ads promised "Makes Scratches, but on your Porsche". The Ti looked great when new, slightly granular as a result of its bead blasting treatment. But any scratch looked 5x worse than on SS as the originally matte material became very shiny locally.

Had to go as I really didn't want to baby this one at all.
ts3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 January 2019, 07:01 AM   #4
blown5.0
"TRF" Member

Thanks guys. I should have been more clear. I was referring to the ROO chrono - https://www.audemarspiguet.com/en/wa....OO.A004CA.01/
blown5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 January 2019, 07:41 AM   #5