The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Miscellaneous Forums > Pens & Writing Instruments

Old 27 October 2009, 01:39 AM   #1
R1@160@alltimes
"TRF" Member

Watch: ♛
Request for advice from TRF pen aficionados

While the pen subforum here on TRF is being worked out and finalized, I have decided to ask a couple of questions in searching for "quality" pen. Keep in mind, I've never collected or owned nice pens before.

Here is the deal: I have been greatly inspired by the fine pen community here on TRF and actively looking for my first great pen. As I am a pen novice at this point, I've have decided to ask for advice as to where should I begin.

I am tooling over the idea of picking a nice fountain pen but I do not know much (actually anything) about them. Perhaps, I should start with a nice Montblanc ballpoint pen.

I guess I just need some direction Any and all advice and suggestions will be greatly appreciated

-Gus
Old 27 October 2009, 01:50 AM   #2
2th Dr
Banned

Watch: Rolex
Fountain pens are nice, if you want to collect them (and not use them). For everyday use, I just don't think they are practical IMHO. I personally like the way rollerballs write. If you like rollerballs, I HIGHLY recommend S.T.Dupont. NOTHING writes like a Dupont! And they are well finished as well.
2th Dr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2009, 02:04 AM   #3
R1@160@alltimes
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2th DR View Post
Fountain pens are nice, if you want to collect them (and not use them). For everyday use, I just don't think they are practical IMHO. I personally like the way rollerballs write. If you like rollerballs, I HIGHLY recommend S.T.Dupont. NOTHING writes like a Dupont! And they are well finished as well.
Thanks for your honest opinion, Mark This is exactly the type of feedback I am after.