The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 19 April 2020, 01:29 PM   #1
vandyologist
2024 Pledge Member

Opportunity to buy a 1655

Hi all. I have no experience with vintage Rolex and have the opportunity to buy this 5.9 million serial 1655. Has box, no papers. Anyone care to share thoughts on condition? Is this the original or era correct bracelet? Does it look to have been polished? Any thoughts appreciated.

vandyologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2020, 04:27 PM   #2
WCHROLX
Banned

It looks perfectly in good shape and is very original.
WCHROLX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2020, 04:40 PM   #3
vintagewatch
"TRF" Member

Watch: Sport 4digit ref#
The 1655 and it's bracelet looks to be genuine and original. The case and bracelet appear to have had a polishing(s) at some point , this is fairly evident on the crown guard, clasp, lugs, and bezel. The wear on the bezel paint is obvious. The dial and hands look good. Considering the watch is about 42 years old the condition is typical. I have a similar 1655 (pictured) with a 5.35 million serial number, but it's been a safe queen (my bad) for a last 32 years so it's faired quite well.

vintagewatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2020, 06:20 PM   #4
storm66
"TRF" Member

I love them.......don’t know a lot about them ....but this might help..........hopefully the link works
https://www.revolution.watch/tooled-...eference-1655/

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
storm66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2020, 06:22 PM   #5
1675-David
"TRF" Member

Looks like a service dial.
1675-David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2020, 06:28 PM   #6
Andad
2024 ROLEX DATEJUST41 Pledge Member

Watch: A few.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vintagewatch View Post