The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex WatchTech

Old 24 June 2020, 02:04 AM   #1
trueblackpercula
"TRF" Member

rattling/service on 3135 rolex movement

Hi

I am brand new at this and I find it fascinating to work on such a project. I have never worked on a watch movement before and this is my first go at it. I did it because I love the challenge. it has nothing to do with saving money as i could easily take it to ROLEX for servicing. i bought the watch brand new from Rolex store in 2006 in NYC and absolutely love it. (two tone submariner with a 3135 movement) paid $a little over $9,200
with that said i noticed that the watch was making a rattling noise that i just could not live with anymore and it was never serviced.

so i decided to read a whole lot and watched many many you-tube videos that really helped me better understand how to start the process.

well i after taking apart the automatic winding device i noticed the oscillating weight pinion gear was damaged and the spring clip for the oscillating weight was worn down as well.
so off i went and purchased original parts to replace them with correct oils to eventually do a complete servicing LOL

so i replaced them and i still had the same rattling noise even though everything was put back correctly and the oscillating weight looked to still have some movement.

so once again i thought it would be the upper jewel in the automatic device upper bridge as it look a little worn even after cleaning it. so off I go again to hunt down the correct original parts and received them a few days ago.

I took the upper automatic device module apart again cleaned everything again re-oiled correctly put it back and still the rattling did not go away.

so finally i decided to get original oscillating weight to replace the old one as the axle looked to be in bad shape.