The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Closed Thread

Old 1 March 2020, 05:31 AM   #1
sevykor
"TRF" Member

The 3235 Movement and The Fix (2 years out)

I have been collecting Rolex for over 20 years and have had many calibers including the 3135 (predecessor to the 3235). A common theme of this story involves accuracy and precision. I judge a watch by its precision (and variance being a result of 5 positions, temperature and isochronism). If precision exists (based on variance), it can often be made accurate with just an adjustment of the balance wheel weights. Chronometers are COSC +6/-4 and now Rolex has reached +2/-2 variance.

My DJ41 has been sent out twice since I purchased it from an AD 2 years ago. My issue was related to a sudden and unexpected change in precision due to extreme variance among the many positions. The first trip to AD (and RUSA from there) was about 1 year after purchase. Watch had erratic time keeping consistent with being magnetized (AD confirmed it wasn’t), otherwise kept a consistent -2 seconds/day since new. Less than a year later and after the first trip to the AD, having maintained +2 seconds/day for nearly a year, it started its erratic patterns again. The AD (which also offers service) tested it on a timegrapher and found that the dial down creates a variance of 10 seconds (don’t recall +/-).