The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex WatchTech

Old 8 October 2018, 05:53 AM   #1
Jfree
"TRF" Member

Servicing cal 710

Hello,
I am a hobbyist watch repairer and am servicing my Dad's old 6022 with a cal 710 movement, that he won in a bingo game in 1952 while stationed in the middle of the pacific ocean on Eniwetok when he was 21 years old. I have been studying horology for about a year and serviced a few watches including a vintage Omega 2179 with a cal 30T2SC, very similar to this cal 710. I have a few questions and would really appreciate any help. I have taken everything apart and getting ready for some repairs that are blatant, before cleaning etc.

1. Past service person broke a case screw off on the plate. Should I extract it with a screw extractor or soak the main plate in alum and dissolve the broken screw. A bit concerned that the plate could be damaged soaking it.

2. Stem and crown were easily removed but stem is wiggly in crown as if the outer diameter of the stem threads are too small for the threads on the crown. It was screwed together but I could tip the crown from side to side on the end of the stem. I have successfully removed the stem from the crown. (photo attached. Am I right to assume that I would need a crown gauge such as the bergeon 6740 gauge? Does any one have a rolex part number for this or aftermarket supplier number for cal 710 stem?

That's it for now. I am sure that I will have more questions when it comes to adjusting the watch. The timegrapher readings before taking it apart were a bit crazy even after demagnetizing.

Thanks,
Jeffrey
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5930 (1024x768).jpg (270.0 KB, 66 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5491 (600x800).jpg (282.3 KB, 66 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5489 (600x800).jpg (202.9 KB, 67 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5931 (800x600).jpg (227.3 KB, 67 views)