The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > General Topics > Open Discussion Forum

Old 19 January 2019, 10:19 AM   #1
GerardoG
Banned

Watch: ALL of them
"Rolex does NOT know about business"

As some of you know, I am a freelance writer for some watch magazines in different countries, something I enjoy as I can share my passion on this unique hobby.

I have just finished writing an article for one of the magazines (draft, off to editorial review and then to print), for which I gathered as much information as possible on a very interesting topic: the watch INDUSTRY. Not the products, designs, sales points; but the money, SKU, inventory side. After all, these are companies that have to make money.

After reading a lot of material, including financial reports by companies such as Morgan Stanley; I remembered a generalized comment we all made when we found that Rolex products were scarce, lead times went through the roof and customers were unhappy: Rolex does NOT know about business. They have the demand and the are not satisfying it. They could make a ton of money, people will be mad and they will loose money.

Well...some quite interesting data:

Rolex's number of SKUs is around 450, which is industry average (Omega has 800, Patek under 200). But how MUCH money do they make per SKU? Rolex's sale value per SKU is 205% LARGER than Omega, 161% LARGER than AP and 34,9% LARGER than Patek.

...and how are they doing with the 'no availability' strategy? Yearly sales in m-CHF (as per M.S.; I know, Rolex does not publish their information; but Morgan has a very strong reputation for not making up numbers). Omega: $2,270. AP: $930. Patek: $1,265. Where does Rolex stand? $3,900

It looks like they DO know what they are doing. BIG TIME!

...just sharing...
GerardoG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 January 2019, 10:21 AM   #2
Etschell
"TRF" Member

Watch: platinum sub