The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 14 June 2018, 04:58 AM   #1
tryptobphan
"TRF" Member

Can dents on gold cases be repaired?

I have a general question for people who have owned watches with gold cases. I'm sure we've all had situations where we accidentally hit a watch against a door way, table, or other hard surfaces and caused scratches or even dents on our watches. For gold watches, if there is a dent, can this be repaired? I know scratches can be fixed by laser technology, but what about dents?

Just last night, I hit my watch, an A. Lange & Sohne Saxnia Thin on a table while putting my hand down and there is now a small flat dent on the corner of my lug. Since gold cases are much softer than steel cases, there's a flat dent that's about 1mm flat. It's barely noticeable, but when the time comes for maintenance, can such a small dent be repaired/reshaped?

It's my first time owning a watch made with precious metal, so I'm not sure. It's been annoying me since last night. Thank you for everyone's help!
tryptobphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 June 2018, 07:30 AM   #2
acaixguard
"TRF" Member

Watch: Rolex, AP, ALS
Ouch, sorry to hear that. I guess that’s going to be inevitable on any PM piece you wear even semi regularly. Hopefully it starts bothering you less and you learn to see it as part of the watch’s personal character.
I’ve heard about laser welding options. Not sure if Lange itself would do that, or if you would need a specialty shop. I’m sure some others here can refer you to a reputable watchmaker who can do this.
I would just leave it as is u til it’s tome for service.
acaixguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 June 2018, 08:02 AM   #3
tryptobphan
"TRF" Member