The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 2 March 2019, 05:42 AM   #1
TimeLord2
2024 ROLEX DATEJUST41 Pledge Member

Watch: GMT Master 1675/3
Rolex GMT 1675 Rootbeer - Refurbish?

First, thank you in advance for any comments and suggestions regarding my watch, and here's my story…
I have a Rolex GMT Master 1675 Two-tone "rootbeer" I received from my father in about 1995. He purchased it from Tiffany in Beverly Hills around 1971-72 and the serial number supports that. When I received it, the general condition is about what it is now, and I was always concerned about the band breaking.
The band on the watch is an american made 14k and stainless jubilee and I am having it refurbished, as I write this, at Rolliworks in San Fran. My question for the community, if you would be so kind to give you two cents, is regarding polishing.
I figure since I am having it refurbished, and in general rebuilt to remove stretch, just polish to factory specs, right? Polished center links, brushed stainless with polished ends, and very light polishing on the clasp portion where the stamp is. I want the band to be usable and safe to wear. Sound reasonable? I have attached a few pics for your review and comment. Thanks again!

Doug
TimeLord2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 March 2019, 08:36 AM   #2
TimeLord2

Here are the images I somehow managed NOT to include in the intitial post.
Attached! I think…
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Watch_6s.jpg (249.4 KB, 1271 views)
File Type: jpg Watch_1s.jpg (194.9 KB, 1271 views)
File Type: jpg Watch_7s.jpg (244.8 KB, 1259 views)
Old 2 March 2019, 09:10 AM   #3
offrdmania
2024 ROLEX DATEJUST41 X2 Pledge Member