The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Breitling Discussion Forum

Old 3 June 2022, 06:44 AM   #1
DMinor
"TRF" Member

Should I purchase the Breitling Mint Navitimer?

Hello all,

I'm new to watches and have the bug. I've been reading up so I have an appreciation of the market.

The reason I got into watches initially was because I'm a younger lawyer with my own office. When I go up against older lawyers at bigger firms, it's good to flaunt a little bit of status and wealth so they don't throw chump change offers my way. As a result, I began investigating watches and that's why I'm here now.

I appreciate the holy trinity and am working on getting a Rolex from one of my local dealers. I appreciate that that is a long game and I'm willing to wait.

In the meanwhile, I've discovered the Breitling Mint Navitimer (41). I think the watch is gorgeous, but I'm aware that it does not carry the same status as other brands, such as Rolex. I find this to be true, not just with watch snobs, but even the snobby professionals I deal with here in Los Angeles. As much as I think it's beautiful, purchasing this watch may defeat the whole purpose of buying one in the first place.

My local dealer is giving me 15% off the bat and I believe I can get him down to around 7000 for the watch. That said, I understand most Navitimers will depreciate like water goes down Niagara Falls, so I have a dilemma.

Do you think I should buy this watch while I wait for a Rolex?

Here are some considerations:

1. Do you think the Mint 41 will show up on the after market?
2. If it shows up on the aftermarket, do you think it will be substantially cheaper than 7000?

Let me know what you think!
DMinor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 June 2022, 11:52 AM   #2
Isochronous
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMinor View Post