The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 13 September 2007, 07:24 PM   #1
mansion

Question for physicists. Winding in space?

A question for physicists.

Would a Rolex wind in space? I think that it would: the wrist and arm would impart (centrifugal?) force to the winding mechanism in the same way as on Earth.

Gravity is not needed.

Is this indeed the case?
mansion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2007, 07:32 PM   #2
BiG JeEzY
"TRF" Member

Watch: GMT I/EXP II/DJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by mansion View Post
A question for physicists.

Would a Rolex wind in space? I think that it would: the wrist and arm would impart (centrifugal?) force to the winding mechanism in the same way as on Earth.

Gravity is not needed.

Is this the case?

I am still studying Physics (Mechanics of Fluids and Solids) so I cant give you a physics based answer just yet.

However I will say that a watch with an automatic winding mechanism will NOT be able to wind in space. The Omega watches that went up to the moon before in the late 1960's had manual winding movements in them because of the reason that the rotor from an automatic watch will not be able to oscillate as effectively when the watch is in space. If I am not mistaken, in space, the rotor will not oscillate in the same manner as it will on Earth.
-Vintage Longines Automatic La Grande Classique
-Vintage Seiko 6138 Automatic Chronograph with "Kakume" Dial
BiG JeEzY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 September 2007, 07:36 PM   #3
leopardprey
Banned

Watch: Panerai 233
No. Rolex Watches have gone in space before and the Perpetual Motion of the Rotar does not work, cause it is gravity driven. GMT II worn on Apollo 13. When using Rolex in space, you must manually wind about every day and a half.