The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Audemars Piguet Discussion Forum

Old 17 January 2020, 03:08 AM   #1
PeteWales
"TRF" Member

Absolute beginner (Be gentle)

Hello,

I would like to buy an AP ROO for my upcoming 50th birthday (I literally learned the ROO abbreviation 5 minutes ago so that should demonstrate how new I am to AP).

I have had a few Rolexes and a Panerai and those companies are baffling enough with their labelling, models prices etc, and AP looks even more daunting.

I have a budget of about £20,000.00, I don't think that will get me in the door of an AD in the UK, so assume I am looking at an independent dealer. I have sold one watch ever, which I still regret, so am not a trader or speculator. I want to buy a watch to keep forever but I would like to buy a watch that holds its value well and keeps a little ahead of inflation.

I have at least 300 questions, maybe more, and am happy to do the legwork reading and research wise. Could anyone point me to any articles or videos that might help me an offer any general advice to start me off?

Thank you.

Pete
PeteWales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 January 2020, 08:47 AM   #2
GS93108
"TRF" Member

Spend some time reading all the threads on here going back several months, you'll find a ton of generic info.

A ROO is going to lose you money unless you are going to keep it until your next decade birthday mile stone. Of course there are models that are better at retaining their values than others but they aren't £20k watches.

ROO's typically fall into two distinct models, 42mm and 44mm, the 44mm seems to be the favoured version at the moment whilst the 42mm seems to have been left behind by AP, although they have just updated it, so it may indicate further updates, but even those will be out of your price range.