The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 19 December 2023, 09:51 AM   #1
DavideV67
"TRF" Member

Rolex daytona 116520 …. The marks...as i see them

Hello everyone.
I am writing from Italy and I have decided to share this "latest effort" of mine with you too.
I apologize immediately if you find some words wrong (I'm using Google Translate) and if this article of mine is out of place.
After comparing all the dials seen from 2022 to today with those I have archived over the previous years. This allowed me to catalog as best I could the various Marks present on this reference, also placing them in time bands.
Obviously, being a self-taught work, it can be (and I hope it is) subject to corrections/in-depth analysis and therefore, if after comparing those you have seen/owned and of which you are 100% certain of the originality/coevalness , if there are any changes to be made... they are welcome!!
This humble publication of mine was also dictated by the fact that some dials are not present in the catalogs found online and this has created quite a few "failures" as they were deemed not to be contemporary (to the great disappointment of the owners, alas).
The one most tormented by these "expertise" is the one I have classified as Mk 6: it has the "misfortune" of being very similar to the Mk1 (especially in having the long minute track on the sides of the "Swiss Made" writing) and therefore when it is seen on serials post 2003/2004 he is pilloried (the last episode happened just yesterday).
In reality it is a very, very common dial seen since 2008 and present until the end of production.
It differs from the Mk 1 both for the alignments in the graphics (slight in the "5 lines" but more evident at 6 o'clock) and for the counters ("bronzed" in the Mk 1 - "mirrored" in the Mk6).