The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 29 May 2020, 12:44 PM   #1
RZee
"TRF" Member

New 1680 Red Sub - Care Questions

Hello everyone,

Last week my wife surprised me with a 1972 1680 Red Sub, and I've been loving every minute with it on my wrist. I'm not new to Rolex (currently have a President; previously had a '62 Oyster Perpetual), but I am new to vintage, and wanted to ask y'all's opinions on caring for this particular watch, as it will by my daily wearer.

To me, the dial is near flawless. I wanted as little patina on the tritium markers and hands as possible, as I prefer a new/out of box look on the vintage watch. I've read Mark's Red Sub write-up multiple times, and am hopeful my tritium markers won't yellow. I'm mostly concerned about the tritium cracking and becoming unsightly. What is y'all's experience with that? Do you take care to avoid sudden/abrupt movements, or is that not a concern? Most of my day is spent in an office, but I'd like to wear my 1680 while golfing, or at sporting events where there's lots of clapping and high fives. Advisable or no?

Other than the tritium concerns, is there anything else I should keep in mind, or particular good care practices? I still have the 9315 folding link bracelet on it, but will be upgrading to the 93150 soon. I'm also pretty sure it has a luminova pearl, which I'll be looking to change back to a matching tritium pearl.

I love the watch, and am looking forward to many years of continued use.

Thanks, Ryan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RedSub.jpg (118.0 KB, 400 views)
RZee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 May 2020, 04:54 PM   #2
BrazenC5
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: 1665,1675,1680,SD4
Congrats on the red sub! I have a 69 meters 1st mark 1 myself and love it.