The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > General Topics > Open Discussion Forum

Old 14 March 2016, 10:28 AM   #1
Colin10101
"TRF" Member

Watch: 16710
Engagement ring advice

Hello guys,

I am looking to buy an engagement ring soon. I know what style she likes - solitaire with round stone, but I could use some advice on purchasing.

I live in Toronto, Canada and most of the stones here come with a Gemscan certificate. Has anyone heard of this? Or should I only be looking for a GIA stone? GIA certified stones are much harder to find here.

On to the stone - I would like to get her a 1 CT. Stone with decent cut and clarity with a budget of around 6500 CAD. Am I better off avoiding retail jewellery stores like People's or Kay? I know my stuff with watches but I'm a rookie when it comes to diamonds.

If you anyone has any stores they recommend in the GTA or southern Ontario region, that would be great!

Thanks,
Old 14 March 2016, 10:40 AM   #2
droptopman
"TRF" Member

Watch: SUBS and GMT's!
Hi there,
Try Costco. They have excellent stones for good prices and the best guarantee in the land. They come with certification and appraisal. Just bought my wife a beautiful vvs 1 ctw princess cut solitaire for our anniversary. Better cut, clarity and color than their competitors for thousands less.
Ty: By height.
droptopman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2016, 10:45 AM   #3
GB-man
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: addiction issues
Can't say I know prices in CA but I HIGHLY recommend you PM Judy aka vitalsignsrn . She is in ontario and is a diamond lover. I'm sure she can tell you everything you need to know. Good luck and congrats! I just did the same myself
GB-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2016, 10:46 AM   #4
Colin10101
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by droptopman View Post
Hi there,