The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 10 May 2024, 12:07 AM   #1
Caaj
"TRF" Member

Icon20 1803 WG guidance needed!

Hi there!

Looking to buy my first Rolex and I am also new to the Rolex forum so go easy on me! :)
I have been looking at the 1803 WG but only the head as they are a bit pricey with the president bracelet. I don’t my the leather straps but I am afraid that I want it on bracelet later on.

If so, would it be wrong to put on a steel oyster bracelet temporarily until I can afford a WG president bracelet (was an oyster bracelet even an option for the 1803?) If so, which oyster bracelet would fit an 1803?

Thank you for your help!!
Caaj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2024, 05:41 AM   #2
steversaurus
"TRF" Member

Before you buy without the bracelet, keep in mind that finding a loose WG bracelet is very difficult. They really don't come up too often.
steversaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2024, 09:12 PM   #3
Toronto Soup King
"TRF" Member

Watch: 1016.
I have an 1803/9 myself, bought from Jacek (Tropical Watch, although he was under another name then, this was pre-Blueberry-crisis). If you think you'll wear it on bracelet, buy it on bracelet, you won't find a loose sixty-year-old bracelet easily or cheaply.

Bear in mind if the one you get has been worn much at all, the rhodium will be wearing off on the bracelet and needing replacement. My watch is currently on strap for this reason
Toronto Soup King is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2024, 10:15 PM   #4
77T
2024 ROLEX DATEJUST41 Pledge Member

1803 WG guidance needed!

Buying as head only is false economy if you intend to get a WG president bracelet later.

Head only is a fine plan if you know you'll use a strap the entire time you have the 1803.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro